Hall of Waters Museum
The Hall of Waters was a WPA project began in 1936 with a construction cost of $1 million as a distribution point for the mineral waters. Art Deco style architecture was chosen as in keeping with the Mayan Indian tradition relating to water and water gods. The Hall of Waters features the world’s longest water bar inside a two-story solarium, which functions as our Visitor Center.
A self-guided tour around the water bar provides kiosk displays sharing our unique mineral water heritage stories, famous people and events of the past. A small museum that provides detailed information on each water variety, spring and well is open to the public. One of two bath departments that still retains its vintage bathing equipment is open for free tours. Extended tours of the building can be arranged; ask at the Visitor Center.
At the time of construction, the men’s and women’s bath departments each handled as many as 300 people at any one time. A competition-sized salt water swimming pool and a polio pool are located on lower levels, along with the bottling works. Pipe was specifically designed for each type of mineral water and a distribution system was developed in order to bring them all to the site.
The Hall of Waters was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983. The building provides an ideal environment to witness first-hand and learn about the historic and economic importance of the mineral water regarding the development of Excelsior Springs. For more about the Hall of Waters, click here.